You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

TinCaps rained out; DH set for Sunday

The Midwest League Eastern Division wild card race took another twist Saturday as rain postponed the TinCaps' game at Bowling Green Ballpark against the Bowling Green Hot Rods.

Fort Wayne and Bowling Green are scheduled to make up Saturday's game as part of a doubleheader on Sunday beginning at 6:05 p.m. EST. Both games will be seven-inning contests.

Entering Saturday, the TinCaps trailed the Great Lakes Loons by a half-game for the wild card. Fort Wayne has the longest active streak of consecutive postseason appearances in the league at five years. Bowling Green was one game back of Great Lakes at the start of the day. Meanwhile, Dayton and Lansing have the same record as the TinCaps.

Right-hander Kyle Lloyd, who was slated to start Saturday, will start Game 1 on Sunday for the TinCaps. He'll be opposed by lefty Chris Kirsch, who also was scheduled to pitch Saturday.

Game 2, which will start 30 minutes after Game 1 concludes, is set to feature Sunday's originally planned starters: Left-hander Jeffery Enloe for the TinCaps and Hot Rods righty German Marquez.