You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps' groundskeeper honored
    TinCaps head groundskeeper Keith Winter was named the Single-A Sports Turf Manager of the Year, an honor he also landed in 2013.
  • TinCaps named Ballpark Digest's team of the year
    Citing sustained success and an "amazing" commitment to community service, the online trade magazine Ballpark Digest recognized the TinCaps as its 2014 team of the year.
  • Ex-TinCap Mallex Smith voted minors' top offensive player
    Mallex Smith, who was the TinCaps' center fielder for the 2013 season and the first half of 2014, was voted by fans as the top offensive player in the minor leagues during the past season.

TinCaps lose to Lake County

The TinCaps fell 8-7 to Lake County at Classic Park on Friday, despite scoring six unanswered runs in the last three innings.

The Captains (32-27, 59-70 overall) cruised to a 5-1 lead in the third with a homer from Grant Fink, an RBI single from Paul Hendrix, a two-run double by Nellie Rodriguez and an RBI single from Dorssys Paulino.

Lake County increased their lead by one run in each of the next three innings until the TinCaps (26-34, 56-73) were able to find some offense.

Trea Turner gave Fort Wayne the lead with a solo home run as the leadoff batter in the first.

In the seventh, Turner, who finished 3 for 5 with two RBI, had an RBI single to bring in Nick Schulz, who finished 4 for 5 and had a two-run homer in the eighth.

In the ninth, Josh VanMeter, Turner and Ronnie Richardson all reached to load the bases. Fernando Perez walked to bring in VanMeter.

Turner and Perez later scored before Schulz stuck out to end the game.

Starter Ronald Herrera (6-9) pitched 261/37 innings, giving up seven hits and five earned runs.

Fort Wayne fell 661/27 games behind the Captains and are two back of Dayton and Great Lakes in the playoff race. The TinCaps finish the three-game series at 7 p.m. today.