You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


Associated Press
Indiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Loretta Rush takes the oath of office from Gov. Mike Pence during a ceremonial swearing-in ceremony in the law library at the Statehouse on Monday. Rush's husband, Jim, holds the Bible and her son, Luke, holds the microphone.

Loretta Rush sworn in as Indiana chief justice

INDIANAPOLIS – Loretta Rush is now the first female Supreme Court chief justice in Indiana history.

Rush was sworn in Monday afternoon by Gov. Mike Pence. She replaces Brent Dickson, who announced in June that he would step down but stay on as an associate justice. He faces mandatory retirement when he turns 75 in 2016.

Rush was selected earlier this month by the Judicial Nominating Commission. She’s Indiana’s first female chief justice, but also has drawn praise for her performance on the court.

The former Tippecanoe County judge was appointed to the Supreme Court by then-Gov. Mitch Daniels in 2012. She’s the first woman to serve on the court since Myra Selby resigned in 1999.

Indiana justices are appointed to five-year terms before facing a retention vote.