You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Motor Racing

  • Column: Tony Stewart's Chase status doesn't matter
    His 41st-place finish Sunday night wasn't that important in the grand scheme of life, which Stewart is beginning to understand in the aftermath of Kevin Ward's death.
  • Power shows patience in winning IndyCar title
    Will Power raced with his head instead of his gut. Only a catastrophe was likely to derail his IndyCar Series championship, and the Australian knew he had to throttle the aggression that has made his career – and occasionally wrecked it.
  • Kahne holds off Kenseth to win at Atlanta
    Kasey Kahne grabbed the lead on the restart following a caution with 23 laps remaining and held off Matt Kenseth in a two-lap shootout to win the NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Atlanta Motor Speedway on Sunday night.

Baer Field Speedway ceases operations

Officials announced Wednesday that, effective immediately, Baer Field Speedway is ceasing operations.

Promoter Jon Raney, a former racer and owner of Jonny-on-the-Spot Delivery Service, took over the facility in late 2012 after the retirement of the late Tom Isch, made the announcement in a statement.

Under his leadership, the facility saw sweeping changes, with modernized facilities; a project to clean and freshen up the facility; increases to the weekly prize money; and new shows aimed at bringing in new fans.

The track opened in 1963 as Sportsman's Park, a one-fifth-mile paved road course for go-karts, and officially became Baer Field Speedway the next year when the half-mile asphalt oval opened on 45 acres of land leased from owner John Weisenauer.

Over the next half-century, the place saw some things. Eight NASCAR champions and a dozen Daytona 500 winners have run Baer Field. Ditto four Indianapolis 500 winners (Bobby and Al Unser Sr., Gordon Johncock, Johnny Rutherford). In September 1965, Bobby Unser set a track record for sprint cars that stood for 12 years.

For more on this story return to after 3 a.m. or see Thursday's Journal Gazette.