You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • Sunday slump continues
    Sunday games haven’t been the best for the TinCaps this season, that’s for sure.
  • Wisconsin evens series with TinCaps
    The TinCaps continued their Sunday struggles as they lost to the   Wisconsin Timber Rattlers 5-2 at Parkview Field. Fort Wayne (44-60, 14-21 second half) is now 3-11 on Sundays and 11-22 for day games.
  • TinCaps Notebook: Herrera readies for return
    When Ronald Herrera takes the ball Sunday afternoon against Wisconsin, it will be his first start since July 13. That day has haunted Herrera for two weeks.

Silver Hawks beat TinCaps with grand slam in 11th

For the second time in three games, the TinCaps went into extra innings at South Bend. Sunday before 3,834 fans at Four Winds Field, the Silver Hawks' Stryker Trahan hit a grand slam in the 11th inning to hand the TinCaps their second straight loss, 11-7.

With game tied at 6 after nine innings, Fort Wayne took a 7-6 lead in the top of 10th when Dustin Peterson doubled home Ronnie Richardson, who led off the inning with a single.

South Bend tied it in the bottom of the 10th on a single by Grant Nelson that scored Marty Herum, who had reached on a Peterson error.

After the TinCaps failed to scored in the 11th, South Bend loaded the bases off reliever Jorge Guzman on a double, a hit by pitch and two-out Peterson error. Trahan's homer, his 10th of the season, ended the game.

Guzman (1-1) was the losing pitcher. Will Locante (3-0), who pitched the 10th and 11th was the winning pitcher.

The TinCaps finish the series at South Bend on Monday with first pitch at 7:05 p.m.