You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Civic leader Gil Haynie dies
    Gilmore S. Haynie Jr., a local attorney who was active in numerous civic efforts and remembered “as a steadying influence,” died Thursday. He was 67.
  • Interstate 69 reopen after Grant County flooding
    Interstate 69 is fully reopen in Grant County after flooding closed the road near the Indiana 18 exit in Marion, Indiana State Police said today.
  • Main Street section to close for Taste of the Arts
    Main Street between Clinton and Lafayette streets is to close at 6 p.m. today for crews to set up for the Taste of the Arts Festival, festival organizers said today.

Teachers of year honored by NACS

Northwest Allen County Schools officials recently announced their 2014 teachers of the year and the Kris Thiele Memorial Professional Learning stipend recipient.

Michelle Stoffel, a second-grade teacher at Hickory Center Elementary School, and Jodie Zimmermann, a third-grade teacher at Huntertown Elementary, were named Elementary Teachers of the Year.

Abby Tigulis, a social studies teacher at Maple Creek Middle School, and Melissa Rife, a special-education teacher from Carroll High School, were named Secondary Teachers of the Year.

Ellen Brineman, who teaches at Eel River Elementary School, received the $1,500 professional learning stipend named after former NACS teacher Kris Thiele.

– Staff and wire reports