You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mad Antics

  • Payne returning to Atlanta
    Adreian Payne has returned to the Atlanta Hawks, but there is a chance he could return to the Mad Ants for their game Friday at Memorial Coliseum.
  • Mad Ants grab 1st win of season
    Led by 28 points from Andre Emmett, the Mad Ants got their first victory over the season Saturday night, defeating the Erie Bayhawks 103-93 in front of 4,617 fans at Erie Insurance Arena.
  • Mad Ants tough start continues
    The Mad Ants’ defense of their D-League championship has gotten off to a rough start. A 99-87 loss Friday at Erie, Pennsylvania, dropped them to 0-3 on the season.

Ants president Jeff Potter named D-League exec of year


Jeff Potter, president of the Mad Ants, was selected the D-League’s Team Executive of the Year after leading Fort Wayne to its first title in its seventh season of play.

The award was voted on by his peers.

“I am deeply honored, humbled and thankful that my peers voted to give me this wonderful award,” Potter said. “It has been a banner year for the Mad Ants both in our business and on the court, and it does not happen without my fantastic staff, which helps make this job the best in the world. I share this award with them and our entire Mad Ants family.”

The Mad Ants won the regular-season title with a 34-16 record, also garnering their first division title and second playoff berth.

In the postseason, they went 6-0, sweeping Reno, Sioux Falls and Santa Cruz.

Despite six NBA affiliations, the Mad Ants got very little help from the NBA on their run; the only players sent down were Peyton Siva, Tony Mitchell, Jamaal Franklin, Orlando Johnson and Solomon Hill.

The roster that Potter helped put together did the work -- Ron Howard was selected co-MVP and won the D-League’s Sportsmanship Award; Conner Henry got Coach of the Year; Howard was first-team all-league; the other Tony Mitchell was third-team; Trey McKinney-Jones was third-team all-rookie; and Sadiel Rojas was second-team all-defense.

A member of the board of directors for the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, Potter’s effect stretched beyond the court, as he forged a partnership with Lutheran Health Network, the first presenting sponsorship in the team’s history, and enhanced the team’s social responsibility initiatives, which included more than 160 community service projects.

Previous winners of the award include Bill Boyce (Texas Legends, 2013), David Higdon (Bakersfield Jam, 2012), Bert Garcia (Rio Grande Valley Vipers, 2011) and Jon Jennings (Maine Red Claws, 2010).

“We are very pleased to honor Jeff with the Team Executive of the Year Award in recognition of the Mad Ants' milestone year both on and off the floor,” D-League president Dan Reed said. “Under Jeff’s leadership, the team has become an integral part of the Fort Wayne community and established itself as part of the rich tradition of Indiana basketball.”