You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • Parkview Field rated top park in minors
    At least according to one publication, Parkview Field, the home of the TinCaps, is the best of 160 ballparks in the minor leagues.
  • South Bend changes name to Cubs
    The TinCaps' Midwest League rivals up the road in South Bend are no longer called the Silver Hawks.
  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.

Wild pitch opens 9th-inning floodgates for TinCaps

Ronnie Richardson scored on a wild pitch by Brad Schreiber to break a 6-run tie in the ninth and the TinCaps went on to a 10-6 victory at Bowling Green.

Franmil Reyes, Jake Bauers and Ryan Miller drove home insurance runs for the TinCaps (28-33) as they won the opener of a three-game series.

Luis Tejada homered, his first, leading off the seventh and three batters later Mallex Smith put the TinCaps ahead 6-5 with an RBI double.

Reliever Tayron Guerrero gave up a tying RBI groundout in the bottom half.

Bowling Green (28-33) led 5-0 after three innings.

The TinCaps used a four-run fifth to get back in the game. Three consecutive one-out singles loaded the bases. Then Tejada hit an RBI single followed by Josh VanMeter’s RBI groudout. Hot Rods pitcher Chris Kirsch let in another run on his throwing error and the fourth on a wild pitch.

TinCaps starter Kyle Lloyd went 5 1/3 innings, giving up five runs on eight hits with six strikeouts.