You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Indiana University

  • IUís Wilson hyped on teamís prospects
    Coffee. Red Bull. Monster. Those beverages mean little to Kevin Wilson. But he knows the common theme: caffeine.
  • IU makes most of change
      Femi Hollinger-Janzen has a history of performing well on the pitch at Carroll High School – he scored in the neighborhood of eight goals in nine career games there – and that was on display Saturday night when he had the lone goal in Indiana
  • IU receiver suspended following fight arrest
    Indiana is already down one wide receiver.Redshirt sophomore Caleb Cornett was suspended after being arrested early Wednesday stemming from an altercation in downtown Bloomington but will not face charges of battery and disorderly

IU captures Big Ten tourney title again

Indiana won its second straight Big Ten baseball tournament title Sunday.

The top-seeded Hoosiers defeated No. 2 seed Nebraska 8-4 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska, in front of an NCAA conference tournament game record of 19,965 fans.

The Hoosiers (42-13) have won four conference tournament titles, also winning in 1996, 2009 and last year. They also won the regular-season and conference tournament titles for a second straight year.

IU was announced as a host site for one of the 16 regionals for the NCAA tournament. The Hoosiers are projected to land one of the top-8 national seeds, and if they do at noon today, they would also play host for a Super Regional.

Indiana opened the scoring Sunday in the bottom of the first with two runs and added another in the second.

Nebraska (40-19) tied the game with three runs in the top of the fifth.

Kyle Schwarber put the Hoosiers ahead for good in the bottom of the fifth with his 12th home run of the season. He was named the tournament’s most outstanding player.

Indiana scored three more runs in the sixth with runs from Brad Hartong, Nick Ramos and Will Nolden.

Luke Harrison (6-0) allowed three runs (one earned) on four hits with one walk and one strikeout in three innings.

Nolden led the Hoosiers offense going 3 for 4 and scoring three. Schwarber went 2 for 4, scored twice and had 2 RBI.

Schwarber, Dustin DeMuth, Scott Donley, Christian Morris and Casey Rodrigue were named to the Big Ten All-Tournament team.