You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.



Ex-Purdue football star gets spot in Hall

Former Purdue defensive tackle Dave Butz was one of 14 players elected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Thursday.

The class also includes two coaches.

“This is indeed a great honor,” Butz said on Purdue’s athletic website. “There are a lot of great ball players in the College Football Hall of Fame, and I am very pleased to be a part of it. I had an outstanding group of teammates at Purdue, and I’m very happy to represent them and the university.”

Butz was a consensus All-American as a senior, the recipient of the Zipp Award as college football’s outstanding player and a finalist for the Lombardi Award (presented to the best lineman or linebacker). He had 108 tackles, 21 tackles for loss and eight pass breakups at Purdue.

Butz was drafted by the St. Louis Cardinals with the No. 5 overall selection in 1973.

He played 16 years in the NFL with the Cardinals in 1973-74 and Washington Redskins from 1975 to 1988.

The rest of the players who will be inducted during the National Football Foundation’s awards banquet in December are Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas; TCU running back LaDainian Tomlinson; South Carolina receiver Sterling Sharpe; USC tackle Tony Boselli; North Carolina cornerback Dre Bly; Penn State linebacker Shane Conlan; Maine linebacker John Huard; Stanford running back Darrin Nelson; UCLA quarterback John Sciarra; McNeese State defensive back Leonard Smith; and Mississippi tight end Wesley Walls.

The two coaches who will join the Hall of Fame are Mike Bellotti, who led Oregon from 1995 to 2008, and Jerry Moore, who coached at North Texas, Texas Tech and Appalachian State.


Kids to join Luck before start of 500

Andrew Luck will be joined by 11-year-old MaKenzi Rooksberry of Jasonville and 14-year-old Johliel Austin of Indianapolis on the IU Health Lifeline helicopter at the Indianapolis 500. They will land in the first turn of the racetrack, then hop into the official pace car and take a lap around the 2.5-mile oval before delivering the green flag that signals the start of the race.

Around the track

NASCAR downgraded the license of Truck Series driver Jake Crum for an incident at Charlotte Motor Speedway last week.


IPFW defeated in tourney opener

IPFW’s first Summit League tournament game didn’t end well. The Mastodons (19-35) rallied from a two-run deficit in the top of the ninth inning only to lose 8-7 to Western Illinois in the bottom of the 10th in their tournament opener. Shane Trevino went 3 for 6 for IPFW, which will return to Sioux Falls Stadium today for a noon elimination game against South Dakota State, which fell 4-3 to North Dakota State.


Around the court

Florida coach Billy Donovan has spoken to a couple of NBA teams about coaching vacancies. … Connecticut coach Kevin Ollie agreed to a $15 million, five-year contract with the national champion Huskies.


Tackett leads match play

E.J. Tackett, from Huntington, is in the top spot of the final match play standings for the PBA Oklahoma Open in Shawnee, Oklahoma. Tackett is 11-7 in the tournament with an 8,367 pin total. He will bowl in the stepladder finals Sunday.


DeKalb senior signs with Calvin College

DeKalb senior Matthew Kuyvenhoven signed to play hockey for Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Kuyvenhoven played his high school hockey for Bishop Dwenger, helping the team win a state title this season. He also played for Team Indiana.


Around the NHL

Pittsburgh rookie defenseman Olli Maatta (shoulder) and forward Beau Bennett (wrist) had surgery. Maatta will miss 4 to 6 months, Bennett will need at least four months to recover. …

The New York Islanders agreed to a four-year contract with goaltender Jaroslav Halak. Halak, 28, split his eighth NHL season between St. Louis and Washington.


Trine faces elimination game

Trine fell 3-1 to Montclair State (41-6) in its first game of the NCAA Division III championship in Suddenlink Field in Tyler, Texas. The Thunder’s Kendra Marshall hit a home run in the sixth inning, but Montclair State broke a 1-run tie with two in the seventh. Trine (42-4) plays East Texas Baptist (44-9) in an elimination game at 2:30 p.m. today.