You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Attorneys general targets Internet trafficking
    SEATTLE (AP) — Washington Attorney General Bob Ferguson sent a letter to the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee urging passage of a bill targeting sex trafficking on the Internet.
  • Police: Indiana suspect hints at more killings
    Police investigating the slayings of seven northwestern Indiana women whose bodies were found over the weekend said Monday it could be the work of a serial killer, and that the suspect has told them his victims might go back 20 years.
  • Bodies of 7 women found in Gary
    The bodies of seven women have been found in northwestern Indiana after a man confessed to killing one woman who was found strangled at a motel and led investigators to at least three of the bodies, authorities said Monday.

FEMA grants state's winter-storm appeal

5 area counties to get funds; Allen, 3 others denied assistance

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has granted Indiana's appeal for federal assistance to some counties for the severe winter storms that affected much of the state from Jan. 5 to 9, Gov. Mike Pence's office said today.

The declaration will allow grants to 19 counties, including Huntington, Kosciusko, Noble, Wabash and Whitley counties in northeast Indiana, and the state may now request assistance for additional counties, Pence's office said in a statement.

Counties denied assistance include Allen, DeKalb, LaGrange and Wells counties, the statement said.

It said Noble and Whitley counties will also receive 72 hours of snow assistance, and Huntington, Kosciusko and Wabash also will receive 48 hours of snow assistance.

The FEMA grants will pay 75 percent of eligible expenses for damage to roads, bridges, utilities, debris removal, buildings' contents and equipment, water-control facilities, and parks and recreational facilities, as well as traffic control and rescue operations.