You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • SACS allows internet learning
    Southwest Allen County Schools students will have the opportunity to attend school from home – through online classes – during staff training days and snow days this year.
  • Allen picked for pre-kindergarten pilot program
    INDIANAPOLIS - Allen County is one of five tapped Tuesday to be part of a state-supported pre-kindergarten pilot program.
  • EACS mulls fate of closed schools
    East Allen County Schools board members agreed Tuesday that the district no longer needs two elementary schools that recently closed, and the buildings will go on a state list for potential charter school consideration.
File | The Journal Gazette
To achieve this designation, a school must be in the top 25th percentile of schools in three ISTEP-based categories.

Four Star schools named

Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz announced Indiana’s 4 Star schools for 2012-2013 today, including a number from northeast Indiana.

To achieve this designation, a school must be in the top 25th percentile of schools in three ISTEP-based categories. A total of 311 schools received the award throughout the state.

Area schools include:

  • Aboite Elementary School Fort Wayne
  • Adams Central Elementary School, Monroe
  • Adams Central High School, Monroe
  • Bellmont Senior High School, Decatur
  • Bishop Dwenger High School, Fort Wayne
  • Blackhawk Christian Middle/High School, Fort Wayne
  • Carroll High School, Fort Wayne
  • Cedar Canyon Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Cedarville Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Concordia Lutheran High School, Fort Wayne
  • Deer Ridge Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Fred H. Croninger Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Hickory Center Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Homestead Senior High School, Fort Wayne
  • North Wood High School, Nappanee
  • Oak View Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Perry Hill Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • St. Charles Borromeo School, Fort Wayne
  • St. Jude Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • St. Louis Besancon Catholic School, New Haven
  • St. Joseph – St. Elizabeth Campus 1, Fort Wayne
  • Whispering Meadow Elementary School, Fort Wayne
  • Woodlan Primary School, Woodburn
  • Woodside Middle School, Fort Wayne