You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.



TinCaps rained out, replace right-handers

The TinCaps return to Fort Wayne with a split at Clinton and a few new faces, the team announced Sunday.

Right-handed pitchers Walker Lockett was placed on the disabled list and Josh Richardson was transferred to extended spring training. In return, Fort Wayne received two right-handed pitchers, Chris Lloyd and Justin Livengood, from extended spring training.

The final series matchup against the LumberKings was canceled because of rain. Since the two teams are not scheduled to meet again in the regular season, the game will not be made up.

The TinCaps open a six-game homestand at 7:05 p.m. today against Burlington. After a three-game series with the Bees, Peoria comes to Parkview Field.


Hight gets historic win in Four-Wide

In Concord, N.C, Robert Hight became the first two-time Funny Car winner in the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals, beating John Force, Alexis DeJoria and Tim Wilkerson in the final. Antron Brown won the Top Fuel division, Jimmy Alund topped the Pro Stock field and Andrew Hines won in Pro Stock Motorcycle.


Baylor star to top women’s draft

The Connecticut Sun are expected take to Stanford’s Chiney Ogwumike with the first pick in this year’s WNBA draft tonight at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., with Baylor’s Odyssey Sims going to the Tulsa Shock at No. 2. If Ogwumike does go No. 1, it would mark the first time in WNBA history that sisters were selected with the top pick. Nneka Ogwumike, who also starred at Stanford, was taken No. 1 overall by Los Angeles on 2012. San Antonio selects third, followed by New York, Indiana, Washington, Seattle, Atlanta and the Fever again at No. 9. Chicago, Connecticut again and defending champion Minnesota complete the first round.

Dumars out as Pistons president

A person familiar with the situation said Detroit has decided not to renew Joe Dumars’ contract as president of basketball operations. The person said Dumars will remain with the Pistons as an adviser.


49ers linebacker arrested at airport

San Francisco 49ers linebacker Aldon Smith was arrested at Los Angeles International Airport after authorities said he became belligerent during a security screening and threatened that he had a bomb.


Around the NHL

New Jersey coach Pete DeBoer will return next season. Devils President Lou Lamoriello said DeBoer, who led the Devils to the Stanley Cup finals in 2011, is under contract for next season. … Florida defenseman Ed Jovanovski was fined $5,000 by the NHL for elbowing Columbus’ Corey Tropp.


Italian motorcyclist dies after crash

The Italian motorcycling federation said rider Emanuele Cassani died after being involved in a crash at the Coppa Italia season-opener. Cassani skidded and was hit by two other riders shortly after the start of his race on Sunday.


Poland still hopes for 2022 Games

Poland still has a chance to host the 2022 Winter Games despite the resignation of the bid committee president, Prime Minister Donald Tusk said. Jagna Marczulajtis-Walczak resigned under media allegations that her husband, Andrzej Walczak, sought journalists’ support for the Games in exchange for money.


$425,000 raised for Boston victims

Runners in a monthlong coast-to-coast relay of more than 3,300 miles which raised more than $425,000 for a charity aiding Boston Marathon bombing victims crossed the finish line in Boston on Sunday The nonstop relay – One Run for Boston – began March 16 in Santa Monica, Calif.


Wambach sidelined with eye injury

Two-time Olympic gold medalist Abby Wambach has been ruled out from playing in the Western New York Flash’s NWSL season-opener at Washington because of a fractured orbital bone below her left eye.


Spaniard wins men’s clay court

In Houston, Fernando Verdasco won the U.S. Men’s Clay Court Championship for his sixth ATP World Tour title and first since 2010, beating Spanish countryman Nicolas Almagro 4-6, 7-6 (4).