You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Mike Nichols, crafter of films, plays, dies at 83
    Mike Nichols, the director of matchless versatility who brought fierce wit, caustic social commentary and wicked absurdity to such film, TV and stage hits as "The Graduate," ''Angels in America" and "Monty Python's Spamalot," has died. He was 83.
  • Cosby won’t address ‘old’ assault claims
    Bill Cosby will not dignify “decade-old, discredited” claims of sexual abuse with a response, his attorney said Sunday, the first comment from the famed comedian's lawyer on an increasing uproar over allegations that he
  • Local artists shape visions from cardboard
    There's no better time for the expression “think outside the box” than when cardboard is the only material you have.

MTV teases with ‘X-Men,’ hails ‘Hunger’

– “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” earned the prize for best film at Sunday night’s MTV Movie Awards, besting even top Oscar winner “12 Years a Slave.”

“Hunger Games” stars also took home some of the night’s biggest awards. Jennifer Lawrence won best female performer, and Josh Hutcherson was voted best male performer.

But it was summer movie teasers, including “X-Men: Days of Future Past” and “The Amazing Spider-Man 2,” that dominated the live ceremony hosted by Conan O’Brien.

Zany award categories were also in abundance. Zac Efron earned best shirtless performance while properly accepting his award shirtless.

Among other winners of the popcorn-shaped prizes at the 22nd annual awards ceremony were Mila Kunis, best villain for “Oz the Great and Powerful”; Channing Tatum, trailblazer award for “Jupiter Ascending”; Jonah Hill, best comedic performance for “The Wolf of Wall Street”; and Rihanna, best cameo performance for “This is the End.”

Best kiss went to Emma Roberts, Jennifer Aniston and Will Poulter.

For full coverage of the awards, go to

– Associated Press