You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps staffer honored
    TinCaps director of promotions and community relations Abby Naas was named the Midwest League's Female Executive of the Year.
  • Padres, TinCaps renew development contract
    The TinCaps said today they have renewed their player development contract with San Diego through the 2016 season.
  • TinCaps' 2009 title team makes Single-A history
    Seventeen members of the 2009 TinCaps have broken into the major leagues, a Class A record, according to information provided by the TinCaps from Sports Reference president Sean Forman.

VanMeter leads Tincaps to win

Norwell graduate Josh VanMeter scored the tying run in the ninth and scored the go-ahead run in the 11th as the TinCaps scored evened the series with the LumberKings with a 6-4 rally in Clinton, Iowa, on Saturday.

Franmil Reyes’ seventh-inning two-run homer gave Fort Wayne (3-6) a 3-2 lead.

The LumberKings (5-4) regained the lead at 4-3 on runs from Zach Shank and Martin Peguero.

A ninth-inning scoring run from Norwell graduate Josh VanMeter helped the Tincaps send the game into extra innings.

In the 11th, VanMeter scored again for the lead and Ronnie Richardson secured the victory.

Tayron Guerrero (2-0) pitched two innings for Fort Wayne. He allowed two hits and struck out two. Lars Huijer (0-1) pitched 5 1/3 innings for the LumberKings, allowing five hits, five runs (two earned) while striking out two.

Fort Wayne out-hit Clinton13-9 and both teams committed three errors.

Mallex Smith and VanMeter had two runs each.

The TinCaps finish their series against the LumberKings today starting at 3 p.m.