You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mastodon tracks

  • IPFW men's tennis player wins invitational
    Karl Wangensten-Oye earned an individual title at the Northern Kentucky Invitational on Saturday in Highland Heights, Kentucky.
  • IPFW doubles team goes undefeated at tourney
    In East Lansing, Michigan, the IPFW women’s doubles team of Marcy Huck and Mayu Sato finished the season-opening tennis tournament at Michigan State undefeated Sunday.
  • Miami (Ohio) blanks IPFW women
    The IPFW women's soccer team (1-6) fell 3-0 at Oxford, Ohio to Miami. Kelsey Dinges scored for the RedHawks in the 25th minute from a free kick deflection to give the hosts a one-goal advantage at halftime.

IPFW makes Coffman hiring official

IPFW has officially named Jon Coffman as its new men’s basketball coach.

Coffman, the top assistant and recruiting coordinator for the last three seasons under former head coach Tony Jasick, signed a five-year deal whose terms were undisclosed. This is his first head coaching position after 16 years as an assistant at five different schools.

“I am extremely thankful to Chancellor Carwein, Kelley Hartley Hutton, and the IPFW community for giving me the opportunity to guide the IPFW basketball program," Coffman said. "This is an outstanding university and community, and I look forward to continuing to build relationships and grow our fan base. I cannot describe how humbled and honored I am to have the opportunity to lead a program of this caliber, and I am eager to work with such passionate people who have a great vision for IPFW.”

The Mastodons won a record 25 games this season and earned a first-time postseason berth in the Tournament.

Prior to coming to IPFW, Coffman worked with coaches that combined for over 1,200 wins, including two Hall of Fame college coaches (John Kresse at the College of Charleston and Bob Johnson at Emory & Henry), and three that hold their schools’ all-time win mark (Emmett Davis of Colgate, Kresse, and Johnson).

For more on this story return to after 3 a.m. or see Friday's Journal Gazette.