You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Irish Insights

  • Video: Notre Dame-Navy preview
      Journal Gazette Notre Dame beat reporter Chris Goff previews the Irish's game against Navy.
  • Irish S Collinsworth ruled out vs. Navy
    Despite making what coach Brian Kelly described as "good progress," Notre Dame starting safety Austin Collinsworth was ruled out of Saturday night's game against Navy.
  • Robinson sees a little of Spurs in Irish
    SOUTH BEND -- The NBA season kicked off yesterday, and Corey Robinson knows that better than anyone because his father, David Robinson, was a star for one of the league's most successful and esteemed franchises, the San Antonio Spurs.

Notre Dame's Muffet McGraw named Coach of the Year

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Notre Dame's Muffet McGraw was honored as The Associated Press' women's college basketball Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Only one other coach -- Connecticut's Geno Auriemma -- has ever won back-to-back awards.

After losing superstar point guard Skylar Diggins to graduation, Notre Dame reeled off a season few expected, carrying a 36-0 record into Sunday's Final Four game against Maryland.

McGraw has won the award three times, the first in 2001.

"Incredible honor," McGraw said. "This is most definitely a team award. I have the best staff in college basketball. They make it fun to come into the office."

Holding a sizable trophy at the presentation, McGraw turned to her players, who attended the ceremony and clapped from the front row.

"The best part of my day," McGraw said, "is coming to practice and being around you."