You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mastodon tracks

  • Video: Jacksonville game reaction
      Isaiah McCray led IPFW with 16 points and 10 rebounds, while Mo Evans had 11 points and seven assists.
  • IPFW home at Coliseum
    With the way the IPFW men’s basketball shot the ball Monday against Jacksonville, first-year Mastodons coach Jon Coffman could only hope for more games at Memorial Coliseum.
  • IPFW beats ex-coach, Jacksonville
    The IPFW men’s basketball team beat Jacksonville 89-71 Monday at Memorial Coliseum.

IPFW's Jasick named top mid-major coach

A record-breaking, historic season for the IPFW men's basketball team now includes a national award.

IPFW coach Tony Jasick was named the Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year, presented by

The Hugh Durham award is presented annually to the top Division I mid-major coach in college basketball. The award is named after Hugh Durham who is one of the winningest coaches in college basketball history.

Jasick led the Mastodons to a program-record 25 wins in 2013-14, falling in The Summit League tournament championship game, another first for the program. His 25 wins is tied for the ninth-most in Summit League history.

The squad played host to and won a first-round CIT tournament game against Akron, before falling in the second round to VMI.

Jasick is 52-47 in his three years, putting him fourth on the school's all-time wins list, 15 wins from third.

The past recepients of the award include, 2013: Danny Kaspar, Stephen F. Austin, 2012: Eddie Payne, USC Upstate, 2011: Rick Byrd, Belmont, 2010: Mike Young, Wofford, 2009: Todd Bozeman, Morgan State, 2008: Keno Davis, Drake, 2007: Greg Marshall, Winthrop, 2006: Pat Flannery, Bucknell, 2005: Bob Thomason, Pacific.