You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Beauty without stress
    So you just moved into your new place. It could be an apartment. It could be a little cozy two-bedroom house just for you and your dog or cat.
  • ID'ing phobias in movies
    Elkhart resident Tony Seger is a full-time working dad who had a problem. His wife, Erin, has a fear of vomiting, scientifically known as emetophobia.
  • Weekend warrior: Home winemaker starts his own vineyard
    As executive vice president and general manager of Memorial Coliseum, Randy Brown is responsible for the overall management of the Coliseum as well as for attracting events to the facility.

people and places


Matthew 25 Health and Dental Clinic awarded Dr. Jim and Judy Frey the 2014 Fabric of the Community Award for their longtime service and commitment to community wellness.

Giving back

Mad Anthony Children’s Hope House raised $62,500 during its annual Kids Helping Kids charity basketball tournament.

LaBov & Beyond Marketing Communications and Training produced marketing collateral, branding and strategies to benefit Kate’s Kart, a local nonprofit organization that delivers books to children in 16 northeast Indiana hospitals.

•Bluffton-based Forgotten Children Worldwide raised $71,000 with a benefit concert and dinner last month. The money will help raise awareness of, and help prevent, poverty and human trafficking of children.

•The Delta Dental Foundation awarded $275,000 to community-based oral health programs, including Fort Wayne Urban League, Matthew 25 and McMillen Center for Health Education.

Bosch Community Fund in Albion awarded nearly $35,000 to four school projects in East and Central Noble school districts.

Board named

Community Harvest Food Bank announced officers and members of its board of directors: Matt Bell, president; Danette Fitzgerald, vice president; Deb Treesh, secretary; Casey Scheurich, treasurer; Beth Bechdol, at-large; Ben Williams, at-large; Tammy Andrews, Jeff Beights, Jeremy Carnahan, Jason Fabini, Dave Fee, Chris Gomez, Jim Hauguel, Paul Jacobs, Kristin Jaynes, Gonzalee Martin, Larry Rottmeyer, John Wolf, Andy Yergler, Rob Young and Stan Ziherl.