You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop

  • Stutzman office holding information sessions on military academies
    The office of Congressman Stutzman announces the following information sessions for students who are interested in attending a military academy.
  • Wacoal hosts Fit for the CureŽ to help fight breast cancer
    For every woman that participates, Wacoal will donate $2 to Susan G. Komen®for breast cancer research and community health programs. Wacoal will also donate an additional $2 for every Wacoal bra, shapewear piece or b.tempt’d bra purchased at
  • Transportation Resource Guide available
    The Northeastern Indiana Regional Coordinating Council (NIRCC), with the cooperation of its Transportation Advisory Committee, is proud to announce the availability of the recently completed update of the Transportation Resource Guide.

Verbatim: INDOT awards 14 area transit projects share of $86 million

The Indiana Department of Transportation issued this news release Wednesday night:

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) is awarding $86 million statewide in federal transportation funds to rural cities, towns and counties. Today's announcement includes $47 million for road construction, $22 million for bridges and $14 million for bicycle and pedestrian projects. In the Fort Wayne District, 14 projects were awarded to recipients in northeastern Indiana.

In the Fort Wayne District, INDOT has awarded federal transportation funding to:

  • City of Wabash, $1,612,560 for the Alber Street, from Euclid Street to US 24
  • Allen County, $3,171,852 for the Ryan Road, from Dawkins Road to Harper Road
  • City of Kendallville, $3,142,357 for the Fairview Boulevard, from Dowling Street to US 6
  • Grant County, $1,152,000 for Bridge Number 10 on CR 500 N over Mississinewa River
  • City of Marion, $445,500 for emergency vehicle signal preemption project
  • Miami County, $1,300,000 for Bridge Number 159 over the Wabash River
  • City of Montpelier, $142,480 for sidewalks/ADA on Monroe Street, from Washington to Adams streets
  • Town of South Whitley, $262,340 for ADA Sidewalk Improvements, in various locations
  • Town of Van Buren, $80,000 for ADA sidewalk improvements on Main and Vine streets
  • Town of Converse, $180,000 for ADA sidewalk improvements on Jefferson Street
  • Blackford County, $427,563 for the Blackford County High School Trail
  • City of Garrett, $291,120 for Safe Routes to School sidewalks on Houston and Warfield streets
  • Town of Churubusco, $264,000 for Safe Routes to School sidewalks on Windsor, Mill and East Douglas streets
  • City of Angola, $274,500 for emergency vehicle signal preemption project
Awarded rural projects would be designed, developed and have purchased land according to federal standards prior to bid during the state fiscal year beginning July 2016. Applications for those awards were due Friday, Dec. 13. In the near future, INDOT plans to issue a call for applications for rural local projects that would be bid during the state fiscal year beginning July 2017.

The State of Indiana programs 25 percent of its federal highway appropriation each year to fund larger local transportation projects. Metropolitan Planning Organizations distribute federal highway funds to local communities within the state's larger urbanized areas while INDOT distributes such funds outside MPO areas. To receive federal monies, communities typically pay 20 percent in local matching funds.

More information about INDOT's Local Public Agency program is at

INDOT updates for Northeast Indiana can be found on the Indiana Department of Transportation: Northeast Facebook page and by following @INDOTNortheast on Twitter.

Send items for The Scoop to