You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


Red carpet
For complete coverage during the film awards season, go to
Upcoming: The American Cinema Editors announce Eddie Award winners on Friday
Film Awards season

‘Her,’ ‘Phillips’ awarded top Writers Guild honors

– Spike Jonze’s “Her” and Billy Ray’s “Captain Phillips” earned top screenplay honors from the Writers Guild of America.

Winning the prize for original screenplay on Saturday was “Her,” Jonze’s futuristic exploration of a man’s relationship with his computer.

The victor of the guild’s adapted screenplay went to Ray for “Captain Phillips,” the Somali pirate saga based on the book “A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea” by Richard Phillips and Stephan Talty. Sarah Polley won the documentary award for “Stories We Tell,” a film about her parents and how the filmmaker was the product of an extramarital affair.

Among the guild’s TV winners were “Breaking Bad,” drama series; “Veep,” comedy series; and “House of Cards,” new series.

Cinematographers drawn to ‘Gravity’

“Gravity” collected another win on the road to the Oscars with a nod from the American Society of Cinematographers Awards.

Emmanuel Lubezki was honored Saturday in the feature film category, which also boasted the rest of his Academy Award competition in the best cinematography race. ASC winners in television were Jeremy Benning in movie/miniseries for “Killing Lincoln”; Jonathan Freeman for one-hour episodic series for “Game of Thrones”; and Blake McClure for half-hour episodic series for “Drunk History.”

‘Frozen’ freezes out Annie competition

“Frozen” took the top honor at the International Animated Film Society’s annual awards ceremony on Saturday. The Disney film was named best animated feature at the Annie Awards. It also grabbed individual achievement honors. Chris Nuch and Jennifer Lee were honored for directing; Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez and Christophe Beck won for music; Michael Giaimo, Lisa Keene and David Womersley won for production design; and Josh Gad was given the nod for voice acting.

The wintry princess tale shared the top category with several nominees it also faces in the Academy Awards’ animated feature category including “The Croods,” which won three individual achievement Annies, and “The Wind Rises,” which earned one.