You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Red Carpet

  • 'Birdman' leads Spirit Awards nominations
    "Birdman," a dark comedy about show business, took flight Tuesday with a leading six nominations for the 30th Film Independent Spirit Awards.
  • One Direction, Katy Perry win big at AMAs
    American girls love British boys: One Direction won artist of the year at the American Music Awards, taking home three honors and was the night's big winner next to Katy Perry, who didn't attend the show.
  • 2014-15 film awards calendar
    There’s a chill in the air and more dramatic film fare in the theaters ... welcome to the 2014-15 film awards season.

Production design, camera operator nominees announced

Stop us if you’ve heard these movie titles already this awards season: “Saving Mr. Banks,” “American Hustle,” “Gravity.”

The films are earning nominations in seeminly every corner of the industry, on Thursday they each grabbed nods from the Art Directors Guild and the Society of Camera Operators.

The guild’s Excellence in Production Design Awards have three film categories:

Period films: “12 Years a Slave,” “The Great Gatsby,” “Inside Llewyn Davis,” “Saving Mr. Banks” and “American Hustle”

Fantasy films: “Elysium,” “Gravity,” “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug,” “Oblivion” and “Star Trek Into Darkness”

Contemporary films: “August: Osage County,” “Blue Jasmine,” “Captain Phillips,” “Her” and “The Wolf of Wall Street”

The guild also made nominations for a number of TV, commercial and video game categories. Awards will be presented Feb. 8.

The camera operators group nominated Ian Fox for “Saving Mr. Banks,” Geoffrey Haley for “American Hustle,” Jaques Jouffret for “Lone Survivor,” P. Scott Sakamoto for “Labor Day” and Peter Taylor for “Gravity.”

The awards, including one for television hopefuls, will be unveiled in a ceremony Feb..15.