You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Red Carpet

  • 'Birdman' leads Spirit Awards nominations
    "Birdman," a dark comedy about show business, took flight Tuesday with a leading six nominations for the 30th Film Independent Spirit Awards.
  • One Direction, Katy Perry win big at AMAs
    American girls love British boys: One Direction won artist of the year at the American Music Awards, taking home three honors and was the night's big winner next to Katy Perry, who didn't attend the show.
  • 2014-15 film awards calendar
    There’s a chill in the air and more dramatic film fare in the theaters ... welcome to the 2014-15 film awards season.

'Hustle,' 'Wolf' among Writers Guild nominations

The Writers Guild of America got into the film season action on Friday with its screen nominations.

Several film-season favorites, including “12 Years a Slave,” were not eligible under the writers organization’s rules. Films must be written by guild members or for productions made under one of several guild agreements.

The film nominees are:

Original screenplay

  • “American Hustle”; written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell;
  • “Blue Jasmine”; written by Woody Allen;
  • “Dallas Buyers Club”; written by Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack;
  • “Her”; written by Spike Jonze;
  • “Nebraska”; written by Bob Nelson.

Adapted screenplay

  • “August: Osage County”; Screenplay by Tracy Letts;
  • “Before Midnight”; written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke;
  • “Captain Phillips”; screenplay by Billy Ray;
  • “Lone Survivor”; written by Peter Berg;
  • “The Wolf of Wall Street”; screenplay by Terence Winter.

Documentary screenplay

  • “Dirty Wars”; written by Jeremy Scahill and David Riker;
  • “Herblock – The Black & The White”; written by Sara Lukinson & Michael Stevens;
  • “No Place on Earth”; written by Janet Tobias and Paul Laikin;
  • “Stories We Tell”; written by Sarah Polley;
  • “We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks”; written by Alex Gibney.

TV nominations

TV nominations had been previously announced and include “Breaking Bad,” “30 Rock,” “Homeland,” “House of Cards,” “Ornage is the New Black” and “Modern Family.”

A complete list of TV nominees can be seen here:

The awards will be handed out Feb. 1.