You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Red Carpet


Black film critics honor ‘12 Years a Slave’

LOS ANGELES – The African American Film Critics Association on Friday named Steve McQueen’s “12 Years a Slave” the best film of 2013.

The historical drama was the big winner with the organization, earning four awards. Besides best film, “12 Years a Slave” won director honors for McQueen, screenplay for John Ridley and breakout performance for Lupita Nyong’o.

Forest Whitaker was named best actor for “Lee Daniels’ The Butler,” while Sandra Bullock received best actress honors for “Gravity.”

The critics chose Oprah Winfrey for supporting actress for “The Butler,” and Jared Leto for supporting actor for “Dallas Buyers Club.”

“Frozen” won best animated film and “Mother of George” was the recipient of the best world cinema honor. Raphael Sadiq won best music for “Black Nativity” and “Fruitvale Station” was honored with the best independent film award. “American Promise” won top documentary.

The group also announced its top 10 films of 2013: “12 Years a Slave,” “Lee Daniels’ The Butler,” “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom,” “American Hustle,” “Gravity,” “Fruitvale Station,” “Dallas Buyers Club,” “Saving Mr. Banks,” “Out of the Furnace” and “42.”

Bob and Harvey Weinstein, Cheryl Boone Isaacs, Paris Barclay, Zola Mashariki and Justin Chang were previously announced as winners of the group’s Special Achievement Awards.

The critics will present the awards at a ceremony Jan. 31 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood. Orlando Jones will host.