You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Red Carpet

Associated Press
This image released by Fox Searchlight shows Michael Fassbender, left, Lupita Nyong'o and Chiwetel Ejiofor, right, in a scene from "12 Years A Slave."

DC critics hail ‘12 Years a Slave’

The Washington, D.C., Area Film Critics Association is full of love for “12 Years a Slave.”

The group’s film season honors, announced Monday, gave the slavery tale six awards including best film, best actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor, best supporting actress for Lupita Nyong’o, best ensemble, best adapted screenplay and best original score.

“Gravity” helmer Alfonso Cuaron won the best director title.

The group, which is comprised of 58 film critics, also awarded:

  • Best actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”
  • Best supporting actor: Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”
  • Best youth performance: Tye Sheridan, “Mud”
  • Best original screenplay: Spike Jonze, “Her”
  • Best animated feature: “Frozen”
  • Best documentary: “Blackfish”
  • Best foreign language film: “The Broken Circle Breakdown”
  • Best art direction: production designer Catherine Martin and set decorator Beverley Dunn, “The Great Gatsby”
  • Best cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, “Gravity”
  • Best editing: Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger “Gravity”
  • The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, D.C.: Lee Daniels’ “The Butler”