You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Red Carpet

  • 'Birdman' leads Spirit Awards nominations
    "Birdman," a dark comedy about show business, took flight Tuesday with a leading six nominations for the 30th Film Independent Spirit Awards.
  • One Direction, Katy Perry win big at AMAs
    American girls love British boys: One Direction won artist of the year at the American Music Awards, taking home three honors and was the night's big winner next to Katy Perry, who didn't attend the show.
  • 2014-15 film awards calendar
    There’s a chill in the air and more dramatic film fare in the theaters ... welcome to the 2014-15 film awards season.

Annie Awards make nominations

– “Rise of the Guardians,” “Wreck-It Ralph,” “Brave” and “Frankenweenie” are among the nominees for best animated feature at the 40th annual Annie Awards.

Other best-picture nominees announced Monday are “ParaNorman,” “Hotel Transylvania,” “The Pirates! Band of Misfits” and “The Rabbi’s Cat.”

The Annie Awards recognize animated productions in 30 categories.

“Rise of the Guardians,” “Brave” and “Wreck-It Ralph” each have 10 bids. “Hotel Transylvania” and “ParaNorman” earned eight nods apiece. “Frankenweenie” has six; “The Pirates!” has five and “The Rabbi’s Cat” has two.

The awards will be presented Feb. 2 at UCLA’s Royce Hall.

Here are the nominees in the feature film categories.

Best Animated Feature

•“Brave,” Pixar Animation Studios

•“Frankenweenie,” The Walt Disney Studios

•“Hotel Transylvania,” Sony Pictures Animation

•“ParaNorman,” Focus Features

•“Rise of the Guardians,” DreamWorks Animation

•“The Pirates! Band of Misfits,” Aardman Animations

•“The Rabbi’s Cat,” GKIDS

•“Wreck-It Ralph,” Walt Disney Animation Studios

Animated Effects in an Animated Production

•Andrew Nawrot, Joe Gorski, Grant Laker – “ParaNorman” – Focus Features

•Andrew Schneider – “Ice Age: Continental Drift”

•Andy Hayes, Carl Hooper, David Lipton – “Rise of the Guardians”

•Bill Watral, Chris Chapman, Dave Hale, Keith Klohn, Michael K. O”Brien – “Brave”

•Brett Albert – “Wreck-It Ralph”

•Jihyun Yoon – “Madagascar 3: Europe”s Most Wanted”

•Joel Aron – “Star Wars: The Clone Wars”

Animated Effects in a Live Action Production

•Jerome Platteaux, John Sigurdson, Ryan Hopkins, Raul Essig, Mark Chataway – “The Avengers”

•Stephen Marshall, Joseph Pepper, Dustin Wicke – “The Amazing Spider-Man”

•Sue Rowe, Simon Stanley-Clamp, Artemis Oikonomopoulou, Holger Voss, Nikki Makar, Catherine Elvidge – “John Carter”

•Willi Geiger, Rick Hankins, Florent Andorra, Florian Witzel, Aron Bonar – “Battleship”

Character Animation in a Feature Production

•Dan Nguyen, “Brave”

•David Pate, “Rise of the Guardians”

•Jaime Landes, “Brave”

•Phillppe LeBrun, “Rise of the Guardians”

•Pierre Perifel, “Rise of the Guardians”

•Travis Hathaway, “Brave”

•Travis Knight, “ParaNorman”

•Will Becher, “The Pirates! Band of Misfits”

Character Animation in a Live Action Production

•Erik de Boer, Amanda Dague, Matt Brown, Mary Lynn Machado, Aaron Grey – “Life of Pi – Orangutan”

•Erik de Boer, Matt Shumway, Brian Wells, Vinayak Pawar, Michael Holzl – “Life of Pi – Tiger”

•Jakub Pistecky, Maia Kayser, Scott Benzu, Steve King, Kiran Bhat – “The Avengers”

•Mike Beaulieu, Roger Vizard, Atushi Sato, Jackie Kochler, Derek Esparza, Richard Smith, Mac Tyrie – “The Amazing Spider-Man”

Character Design in an Animated Feature Production

•Bill Schwab, Lorelay Bove, Cory Loftis, Minkyu Lee – “Wreck-It Ralph”

•Carlos Grangel – “Hotel Transylvania”

•Carter Goodrich – “Hotel Transylvania”

•Craig Kellman – “Madagascar 3: Europe”s Most Wanted”

•Heidi Smith – “ParaNorman”

•Yarrow Cheney, Eric Guillon, Colin Stimpson – “Dr. Seuss” The Lorax”

Directing in an Animated Feature Production

•Genndy Tartakovsky – “Hotel Transylvania”

•Joann Sfar, Antoine Delesvaux – “The Rabbi’s Cat”

•Remi Bezancon, Jean-Christophe Lie – “Zarafa”

•Rich Moore – “Wreck-It Ralph”

•Sam Fell, Chris Butler – “ParaNorman”

Music in an Animated Feature Production

•Alexandre Desplat – “Rise of the Guardians”

•Bruce Retief – “Adventures in Zambezia”

•Henry Jackman – “Wreck-It Ralph”

•Joel McNeely, Brendan Milburn, Valerie Vigoda – “Secret of the Wings”

•John Powell, Adam Schlesinger, Ester Dean – “Ice Age: Continental Drift”

•John Powell, Cinco Paul – “Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax”

•Mark Mothersbaugh – “Hotel Transylvania”

•Patrick Doyle, Mark Andrews, Alex Mandel – “Brave”

Production Design in an Animated Feature Production

•Kendal Cronkhite-Shaindlin, Shannon Jeffries, Lindsey Olivares, Kenard Pak – “Madagascar 3: Europe”s Most Wanted”

•Marcello Vignali – “Hotel Transylvania”

•Nash Dunnigan, Arden Chen, Jon Townley, Kyle McNaughton – “Ice Age: Continental Drift”

•Nelson Lowry, Ross Stewart, Pete Oswald, Ean McNamara, Trevor Dalmer – “ParaNorman”

•Norman Garwood, Matt Berry – “The Pirates! Band of Misfits”

•Patrick Hanenberger, Max Boas, Jayee Borcar, Woonyoung Jung, Perry Maple, Peter Maynez, Stan Seo, Felix Yoon – “Rise of the Guardians”

•Rick Heintzich – “Frankenweenie”

•Steve Pilcher – “Brave”

Storyboarding in an Animated Feature Production

•Emmanuela Cozzi – “ParaNorman”

•Johanne Matte – “Rise of the Guardians”

•Leo Matsuda – “Wreck-It Ralph”

•Lissa Treiman – “Wreck-It Ralph”

•Rob Koo – “Madagascar 3: Europe”s Most Wanted”

Voice Acting in an Animated Feature Production

•Adam Sandler as Dracula – “Hotel Transylvania”

•Alan Tudyk as King Candy – “Wreck-It Ralph”

•Atticus Shaffer as “E”Gore – “Frankenweenie”

•Catherine O’Hara as Weird Girl – “Frankenweenie”

•Imelda Staunton as Queen Victoria – “The Pirates! Band of Misfits”

•Jim Cummings as Budzo – “Adventures in Zambezia”

•Jude Law as Pitch – “Rise of the Guardians”

•Kelly MacDonald as Merida – “Brave”

Writing in an Animated Feature Production

•Chris Butler – “ParaNorman”

•Gideon Defoe – “The Pirates! Band of Misfits”

•Hayao Miyazaki, Keiko Niwa, Karey Kirkpatrick – “From Up on Poppy Hill”

•John August – “Frankenweenie”

•Mark Andrews, Steve Purcell, Brenda Chapman, Irene Mecchi – “Brave”

•Phil Johnston, Jennifer Lee – “Wreck-It Ralph”

Editorial in an Animated Feature Production

•Catherine Apple – “Hotel Transylvania”

•Joyce Arrastia – “Rise of the Guardians”

•Mark Rosenbaum – “Secret of the Wings”

•Nicholas A. Smith, Robert Graham Jones, David Suther, – “Brave”

•Tim Mertens – “Wreck-It Ralph”