You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • School districts see subs shortage
    Joanie LeGrand retired from teaching at Holland Elementary School in Fort Wayne in 1999. Now she comes back to work as a substitute teacher, bringing her bag of tricks with her.
  • Preschool grants offered to low-income Hoosier families
    Allen County families who meet certain income requirements can apply for prekindergarten educational grants from Indiana’s Office of Early Education and Out-of-School Learning.
  • School Delays for Nov. 19
    Frigid temperatures are once again leading to school delays around the area.

Starfires to take field at Purdue Band Day

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Thirty-one high school marching bands from across Indiana, including the South Adams marching Starfires, are joining Purdue University's marching band for its next football game performance.

Purdue said the turnout is set to be its largest Band Day in more than a decade. Band Day coordinator Matt Conaway said spectators at Saturday's game at Ross-Ade Stadium in West Lafayette should be impressed seeing 2,000 performers on the field.

The massed bands will perform a rendition of the classic TV theme song from "Gunsmoke." The performance also will feature the theme from "Peter Gunn" and a combined arrangement of "America" and "The Battle Hymn of the Republic."

2012 Purdue Band Day participants

Attica: Attica HS Red Ramblers, Joel Good, Director

Berne: South Adams HS Marching Starfires, Curt Amstutz, Director

Bremen: Emerald Alliance Bremen Marching Band, Matthew Sutton, Director

Cloverdale: Cloverdale HS Band, William Cole, Director

Crawfordsville: North Montgomery HS Marching Chargers, Jonathon Flodder, Director

Covington: Covington HS Trojan Marching Band & Guard, Andrew Simpkins, Director

Culver: Culver Community HS Marching Cavaliers, Jason Crittendon, Director

Delphi: Delphi Community HS Band, Jay Dennison, Director

Denver: North Miami HS Marching Band, Sylvia Maxson, Director

Frankfort: Clinton Prairie HS "Pride of the Prairie," James Bertucci, Director

Flora: Carroll HS Cougar Band, Andy Cherolis

Fulton: Caston HS Comet Band, James R. Byrn Jr, Director


Hobart HS Marching Band, Brian Grenier, Director

Indianapolis: Cathedral HS "Pride of the Irish" Band, Kathy McCullough, Director

Lafayette: Faith Christian School Marching Band, Joe Wright, Director; McCutcheon HS Pride of McCutcheon, Dan Peo, Director

Lebanon: Lebanon HS Tiger Pride Band, Alan Conrad, Director

Marion: Marion HS Marching Giants, Wayne Garrett, Director

Marshall: Turkey Run HS Band, Annette Munoz, Director

Montgomery: Barr-Reeve Viking Band, Stephanie O'Brian, Director

Montezuma: Riverton Park HS Marching Panther Band, Mike Hardesty, Director

Oxford: Benton Central HS Marching Band, Michael Richardson, Director

Peru: Peru HS Marching Tiger Band, Diane Haley, Director

Rochester: Rochester HS Zebra Band, Barry Frisinger, Director

South Bend: Washington HS Marching Panthers, Wade Armentrout, Director

Tipton: Tipton HS Blue Devils, R.D. Fletcher, Director

Valparaiso: Wheeler HS Marching Bearcats, John VanPatten, Director; Morgan & Washington Township Marching Band, Justin Thompson, Director

West Lafayette: West Lafayette HS "The Sound of West Side," Don Pettit, Director; Wm. Henry Harrison HS Militia Band, Steve Cotten, Director

West Lebanon: Seeger HS Patriot Marching Pride, Patrick Teykl, Director