You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Kathy Callen joined Old National Bank as community engagement executive for its Fort Wayne region.
  • Business people
    Wells Fargo Advisors Financial Network designated Byron Braun, president and fundamental choice portfolio manager of Braun Wealth Management Group LLC, as a member of its Premier Advisors Program.
  • Business people
    Do it Best Corp. hired Travis Adams as a business technical support technician and Bryan Chamberlain, forecasting and logistics planner.

Business people


Arts United announced its board of directors for 2012-13. Officers: Andrew D. Boxberger, Carson Boxberger, chair; Nancy Stewart, community volunteer, vice chair; Molly McCray, Fort Wayne City Council, secretary; and Troy Panning, Lincoln Financial Group, treasurer. Other board members: Mary Bell, Wells Fargo; Bix Benson, Ruffolo Benson; Sarah Bodner, Indiana Michigan Power; Madelane Elston, community volunteer; Cindy Goodman, J.P. Morgan; Christopher Guerin, Sweetwater Sound; Leonard Helfrich, Northeast Indiana Regional Marketing Partnership; TK Herman, Aptera; Herb Hernandez, Asset and Estate Management; Amy Hester, Lincoln Financial Group; Pam Holocher, city of Fort Wayne; Barbara Johnson, SheeKriStyle Academy of Dance Arts; J. Michael Keefer, Security Benefit Group; Pamela M. Kelly, M.D., Infectious Diseases; Maury Keltsch, community volunteer; Mark Michael, Fort Wayne Metals; Uzma Mirza, AYN Architect; Carlos Ramos, Swiss Re; Tim Rayl, Memorial Park Middle School; Kim Stacey, community volunteer; Carmen Tse, Lincoln Financial Group; Joe Wolfcale, Fort Wayne Radiology; and Max Yen, IPFW. Jim Sparrow, executive director of Arts United, is a non-member.

Michael A. Setlak, an attorney at the Shilts Law Office, has become a Registered Family Law Mediator. Setlak has been a practicing family law attorney for 10 years.

Dennis Duncan has joined Grace College as director of prison education. Duncan was previously the principal at Jefferson Elementary School.

Hoosier Homestead Awards were given to the Gray Farm in Churubusco and the Stout Farm in Kendallville. The Gray Farm, in operation since 1888, received the Centennial Hoosier Homestead Award, and the Stout Farm, in operation since 1844, received the Sesquicentennial Hoosier Homestead Award.

Kathleen Anderson, the first female partner in the Fort Wayne office of Barnes & Thornburg LLP, will be honored as a “Title IX Hero” at the Inspiring Women Night at the Indiana Fever basketball game Sept. 9.

Jolie Flotow of Fort Wayne was named an Excellent Beginnings Program Achiever by Lia Sophia, a network-marketing jewelry retailer, for outstanding sales accomplishments and professionalism.

Derrick Sherck was promoted to graduate retention program manager by the Greater Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce. Sherck joined the Chamber in 2010 as a graduate retention field representative.

The Tawasi Chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals elected the following officers for the 2012-13 term: Teresa Walters, administrative assistant, American Electric Power Co., president; Faye Pulis, administrative assistant, Keith Busse School of Business and Entrepreneurial Leadership, University of Saint Francis, vice president; Cheri Umphrey, executive assistant, Rehabilitation Hospital of Fort Wayne, secretary; and Shari Clemens, administrative assistant, Foellinger Foundation, treasurer.

WaterFurnace Renewable Energy Inc. hired Herb Batrouny as senior vice president of Asia Pacific operations and Kevin Wu as director of engineering Asian operations. The positions were created to support the company’s joint venture in Ningbo, China.

Angela Hughes, in-house counsel for Franklin Electric, was named one of ACC Docket’s Top 10 30-Somethings for 2012. The award recognizes excellence among in-house attorneys between the ages of 30 and 39.

Stephen L. Fink, a partner in Barnes & Thornburg LLP’s Fort Wayne office, completed the requirements to become a registered civil mediator for the state of Indiana. Fink is also a member of the firm’s finance, insolvency and restructuring department.

Brand Innovation Group hired Suzanne Davis as a graphic designer, Eric Hall as digital director, Mary Kinder as a senior copywriter, Del Roth as senior accounting manager, Byron Shank as project manager and functional analyst and Brady Wieland as an account manager.

Gail Mix joined KB Search Team as executive recruiter. Mix has more than 25 years of recruiting experience in medical, financial services and manufacturing.

Susan Trent, a partner at Rothberg Logan & Warsco LLP, wrote an article titled “Hall Creates Chapter 12 Booby Trap,” which was published in the July edition of American Bankruptcy Institute Journal.

The Fort Wayne Museum of Art elected the following officers to its board of directors for 2012-13: Thomas M. Niezer, Barrett & McNagny LLP, president; Mark Renshaw, Ophthalmology Consultants of Fort Wayne P.C., vice president; Claire Ewart, local artist, secretary; and Thomas Elyea, Summit Consultants Inc., treasurer.

Orizon Real Estate in Kendallville announced that Terri Deming was named listing agent of the month and that Tim and Anita Hess were named the sales team of the month.

Patrick Buesching joined 80/20 Inc. as education manager. Buesching was previously an adjunct faculty member in business administration at Ivy Tech.

Tom Jones was elected to the executive committee at Crowe Horwath LLP in the Fort Wayne office.

George S. McClellan, vice chancellor for student affairs at IPFW, has published the books “The Handbook of College Athletics and Recreation Administration,” and “Stepping Up to Stepping Out: Helping Students Prepare for Life After College.”